The name ‘Dandaragan’ was first recorded in 1850 as the name of a nearby gully and spring or watering hole known as ‘Dandaraga Spring’. The word is indigenous Australian in origin and is thought to mean ‘good kangaroo country’. The first recorded land lease was to William Brockman in 1848 with a 6,000 acre land lease at Muchamulla Springs. James Drummond settled in the area in 1850 and established a farm. The townsite was gazetted in 1958 and Dandaragan today is a charming and productive farming community. There is a combined general store / café / post office and the Dandaragan Community Resource Centre provides access to essential community and government services, as well as visitor information. There is a thriving sports community in the region and visitors are welcome at the various clubs and facilities. For a town map of Dandaragan click here.
Aggie’s Cottage “Wolba Wolba” is located on Badgingarra Road, just out of the main township of Dandaragan. It is used by local historical and craft groups and run by a volunteer management committee.
The brick, stone and iron cottage was erected around 1871 on land which was originally taken up by Thomas Jones. The surrounding area also became an important campsite during World War II when the army carried out extensive training exercises in the district.
This magical location is unique to the Shire of Dandaragan and the region as a whole. Community groups host a number of events throughout the year that are open to the public in their quest to raise funds to better facilitate ‘Aggies Cottage’ for the community and for future generations.
The grounds have just been re-landscaped for better access and more stable grounds and the entire property is available for event hire and weddings.
Located at the southern end of town, this charming Anglican Church was constructed between 1885 and 1887 and is constructed of local soap stone which came from ‘Kayanaba’, a nearby property. This stone was soft when first quarried, so the blocks could be easily sawn into shape. Hardening occurred after contact with the air.
The building was opened as a church and school in 1888 and used for social gatherings and then, after 1890, for the Dandaragan Road Board meetings. Four extra rooms were added on at the rear circa 1900 to provide suitable accommodation for the teacher. Classes were held there until 1948 when it was condemned for use as a school.
A recreational focal point in the town centre for visitors and residents alike featuring a transit caravan park with modern ablution block (showers and laundry), gas BBQ’s, gazebos, dump point and a Dandaragan pioneers memorial rotunda depicting the history of the district since 1843.
As well as the historical information on the area displayed at the park, the memorial rotunda has been updated with more recent additions of local family details and interesting events that have helped shape the town. It is reflective of the committed, spirited and diverse community that live in and around Dandaragan.
A wonderfully scenic tourist drive that starts at Regan’s Ford and diverts off the Brand Highway to Dandaragan before arriving in Badgingarra and back to the Brand Highway.
Regan’s Ford was named for Edward Regan, who was commissioned by Walter Padbury of（Yathroo Farm）to build the original ford for ten pounds in 1870. This crossing was vital to the progress of the area so produce and stock could be transported to Guildford, north of Perth city, for sale.
On the tourist drive enjoy stunning scenery including rolling hills, running creeks, marri trees, thousands of cockatoos and the unique flora of the Badgingarra National Park region.